All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Town Meetings

Fischer defeats Flattes in Derry Council race

By Hunter McGee
Union Leader Correspondent

March 11. 2014 10:52PM

DERRY — In Tuesday's election, David Fischer defeated Marc Flattes to win the Town Council District 3 seat.

Fischer garnered 227 votes to Flattes 140, according to election results.

It was the only contested council seat this year in an election with few contested races to draw the attention of voters.

In other races, Joshua Bourdon ran unopposed to win the at-large seat held previously by Brad Benson. Bourdon received 925 votes. Both council seats carry three-year terms.

In other contests, Margaret Ives ran unopposed to claim the town moderator post, receiving 1035 votes.

Results for the Derry Public Library Trustees race are as follows: Dorothy Wiley, with 564 votes; Lynne S. Mann, 489; Phyllis D. Howard, 412; Christina Mentus, 404; James Thomas, 379; and M. “Jackie” Dempsey, 283.

In the race for Trustee of the Trust Funds: Joel Olbricht, earned 610 votes to Kelly Mahony’s 477 votes.

Candidates for Supervisor of the Checklist, which carries a six-year term: Renee Routhier earned 720 votes to Janet Bhagat’s 346..

Vying for Supervisor of the Checklist, which carries a four–year term to fill a vacancy: Lorraine Routhier earned 561 votes to Peg Mullins' 491 votes.

And for the Trustee of the Taylor Public Library, Aimee Hunemann earned 809 votes to Edward Ciancio’s 735 votes.

For school board , incumbents Dan McKenna and Wendy Smith went unopposed to each win three-year terms. McKenna received 915 votes while Smith earned 848 votes.

And voters approved the Derry Cooperative School District budget of $80,539,896 for 2014-15 by a vote of 915 to 234.

General News Derry


More Headlines