All Sections

Home | High School Sports

NH splits in hockey Twin State

July 02. 2018 9:41PM

New Hampshire and Vermont settled for a split in Saturday’s Make-A -Wish All-Star Twin State Hockey Classic at the University of Vermont’s Gutterson Field House.

Cullen McCarthy scored with 25 seconds remaining in regulation to lift Vermont past New Hampshire 2-1 in the boys’ game. Hanover goalie Harris LaRock made 25 saves and earned New Hampshire MVP honors. Spaulding of Rochester’s Colin Dickinson won the sportsmanship award.

In the girls’ contest, Ashley Keaveney (Exeter), Hannah Curtis (Hanover) and Julia Tibbits (Lebanon) scored early in the second period to help the New Hampshire girls to a 4-2 triumph. Sydney Herrington of Bishop Brady/Trinity/Manchester West assisted on two goals, scored an insurance marker in the third period and was named the New Hampshire MVP.

Souhegan of Amherst’s Makayla Lachance and Kingswood of Wolfeboro’s Nikki Cayon shared the goaltending for the Granite Staters and combined for 13 saves.