All Sections

Home | Election 2014 Blog

Babson, Sorenson win Carroll County commission seats

Union Leader Correspondent

November 07. 2012 5:19PM

OSSIPEE - Carroll County Commission incumbent David Sorenson, R-Eaton, was reelected to the commission's District 1 seat during the general election after defeating Democratic challenger Erik Corbett of Bartlett.

The vote tally from the county's 19 towns was 14,449 to 10,604.

Sorenson will serve a four-year term. District 1 covers Bartlett, Chatham, Conway, Eaton, Freedom Hart's Location and Jackson. Sorensen served as commissioner for 12 years and this was Corbett's first run for county commissioner.

Commission incumbent Dorothy Solomon, however, did not fare as well: Challanger David Babson Jr., R-Ossipee, earned more votes in the District 2 county commissioner race.

Babson earned 13,647 votes to Solomon's 11,671.

District 2 covers Albany, Hale's Location, Madison, Moultonborough, Ossipee, Sandwich, and Tamworth. This seat carries a two-year term.

Politics Eaton Eaton Center Freedom Madison Moultonboro Moultonborough Ossipee Sandwich Tamworth Albany Bartlett Chatham Conway Hart's Location Jackson

More Headlines

Fire union antics: Aldermen feel the pressure