All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Politics

Latest batch of recounts from Nov. 6 vote don't alter outcomes

State House Bureau

November 15. 2012 9:29PM

CONCORD - Recounts on Thursday produced no changes in the winners and no changes in the partisan breakdown of the House.

In the Belknap District 4 race, the recount was between two Democrats, Ian Raymond of Sanbornton and Jane Alden of Tilton.

Raymond finished second in the four-person race for the two seats representing Sanbornton and Tilton, 23 votes ahead of Alden, who finished third.

Republican Dennis Fields of Sanbornton was the top vote-getter in the election.

After the recount, Raymond had 1,569 votes and Alden 1,536.

In the Carroll District 2 race, the race for the third seat representing Chatham, Conway, Eaton and Hale's Location went to Democrat Syndi White of Conway.

Republican Frank McCarthy of Conway finishes fourth with 44 fewer votes.

In the recount, White received 2,375 votes, while McCarthy had 2,338.

Democrat Tom Buco of Conway was the top vote getter in the district, while Republican Karen Umberger of Kearsarge finished second.

There was no change in the winner of the Coos District 7 race won by Republican Leon Rideout of Lancaster, who defeated incumbent Democrat Evalyn Merrick of Lancaster by 12 votes.

In the recounts of voters from the towns of Carroll, Dalton, Dummer, Jefferson, Kilkenny, Lancaster, Milan, Northumberland, Randolph, Stark and Whitefield, Rideout had 3,274 and Merrick had 3,240.

The recount in the Grafton District 1 race is between two Republicans for the second seat in the district representing Bethlehem and Littleton.

Only two votes separated Republicans Lyle Bulis of Littleton and Ralph Dollan Jr. of Littleton. In the recount, Bulis received 1,658 votes, while Doolan had 1,662 .

Linda Massimilla of Littleton was the top vote getter in the race.

There was no change in winners in the Sullivan District 11 race between winner Republican Stephen Smith of Charlestown and Democrat Russell Boland of Washington. Twenty-two votes had separated the two candidates in the district that represents Acworth, Charlestown, Goshen, Langdon, Lempster and Washington. After the recount Smith had 2,203 votes and Boland 2,182.

In the two-day recount of the Rockingham District 6 race for Derry House seats, there were no changes.

At issue were the final two seats on the 10-member Derry delegation.

Democrats Elizabeth Burtis and Mary Till won the final two seats, while Republicans Kevin Reichard and Christian Bright finished 11th and 12th.

After the recount their positions remained the same.

With half the recounts completed, Republicans have picked up one seat, giving the Democrats a 221-179 advantage.

- - - - - - - -

Garry Rayno may be reached at


Newsletter Signup

Sunday, 1 p.m. and 4 p.m.

FARM-A-Q 2018
Sunday, 12 p.m. - 4 p.m.