All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Weather

5 counties to get help after Sandy

State House Bureau

November 28. 2012 9:12PM

CONCORD - President Obama issued a major disaster declaration for five counties in New Hampshire due to damage from Hurricane Sandy.

The declaration will provide federal matching money to state and municipal agencies and private nonprofit organizations.

Along with the state, the counties eligible are Belknap, Carroll, Coos, Grafton and Sullivan.

The federal declaration covers infrastructure repair, emergency protective measures, emergency response costs and the cost of debris removal for Belknap, Carroll, Coos, Grafton and Sullivan counties.

The state previously received an emergency declaration to cover the costs of emergency protective measures for Cheshire, Hillsborough, Merrimack, Rockingham and Strafford counties.

Gov. John Lynch requested federal funds to help pay for debris removal for the five southern counties, but that request was denied.

All 10 New Hampshire counties are eligible for hazard mitigation funds, which pay for projects to reduce future disaster damage.

Federal assistance for disaster aid programs pays 75 percent of costs, while the state, counties and municipalities are responsible for 25 percent.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said additional designations may be made at a later date if state has more requests after additional damage assessments.

An earlier damage assessment estimated county and state damages from Hurricane Sandy would exceed $3.6 million.

Public Safety General News Concord

More Headlines

Scorching summer-like heat to return today