All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Business

State AIA chapter honors 5 for leadership

January 12. 2013 8:39PM


BEDFORD - The New Hampshire Chapter of the American Institute of Architects named Louise Lavertu and Jay Kahn honorary members of the chapter and presented outstanding service awards to AIA members James Loft and David Ely.

The honorary member award goes to non-architects who have given distinguished service to the profession of architecture or to the arts and sciences related to architecture within the state of New Hampshire.

Louise Lavertu was recognized for her outstanding work and dedication to the architectural community in New Hampshire and for her expertise in licensing, the legislative process, and as a guide for the board of architects.

Lavertu has served as the executive director the New Hampshire Joint Board of Licensure and Certification for 17 years, where she oversees the regulating of approximately 31,500 licensed or certified individuals and businesses. During her tenure she has been instrumental in implementing legislative agendas and has protected legislative rights for the profession, the AIA said in a news release.

Jay Kahn is the interim president at Keene State College. He served as vice president of finance and planning since 1988. He has overseen a dramatic physical transformation of the campus that includes some of the state's most architecturally significant academic buildings of the past 25 years, the AIA said.

Kahn was the driving force behind a master planning exercise in the early 1990s, and for the string of noteworthy building projects that resulted from it, including the Pondside Residence Halls, Zorn Dining Commons, Young Student Center, Mason Library, Putnam Science Center, Rhodes Hall, the Alumni Center, and the new TDS Center. Several of these projects have won design awards from AIANH.

Two individuals were honored for their service to the profession of architecture and to the AIANH Chapter.

James Loft, senior vice president-architecture at Pro Con Inc., was recognized for exceptional dedication and passion to the chapter and the profession of architecture, and his vigilant oversight of state legislative action related to both the membership and the industry.

David Ely was honored for his outstanding service on the AIANH Environmental Guild for more than 15 years, for his commitment and dedication in promoting integrated, sustainable design and development, planning educational opportunities about high performance, energy-efficient design and construction for New Hampshire building industry professionals, for chairing the Guild and leading its initiatives.

Business Business Headlines

More Headlines

Derry teen's Small Business Fest growing

Discussing your salary at work