action:article | category:SPORTS22 | adString:SPORTS22 | zoneID:40

Home » Sports » College Sports

May 06. 2013 10:16PM

UNH hockey schedule features Michigan, Irish

Home series with Michigan, Union and new Hockey East entrant Notre Dame highlight the 2013-14 University of New Hampshire men's hockey schedule, which was released Monday.

The Wildcats kick off the season at the University of Minnesota's Ice Breaker Tournament at Mariucci Arena in Minneapolis. The 'Cats will face off against Clarkson on Friday, Oct. 11, and will play either Minnesota or Mercyhurst in the final day of the tournament Saturday, Oct. 12. The following weekend, the 'Cats have a two-game home series against Big Ten school Michigan. UNH travels to Rensselaer to play against the Engineers on Saturday, Oct. 26.

Other non-conference opponents at home are Brown (Nov. 12), Harvard (Nov. 26), Nebraska-Omaha (Jan. 3-4) and Union (Jan. 17-18). UNH plays a nonconference road series at Colorado College (Nov. 29-30). The Wildcats will also contest the Battle for the RiverStone Cup against Dartmouth on Jan. 11 at Verizon Wireless Arena.

The Fighting Irish, who will play their first season in Hockey East, will visit the Whittemore Center on Jan. 31 and Feb. 1.

The season schedule is:

Friday, Oct. 11 vs. Clarkson at Minnesota Ice Breaker Tournament, Saturday, Oct. 12 vs. Minnesota or Mercyhurst at Minnesota; Friday Oct. 18, Michigan; Saturday, Oct. 19, Michigan; Saturday, Oct. 26 at Rensselaer.

Friday, Nov. 1 at Mass.-Lowell, Saturday, Nov. 2, Mass.-Lowell; Friday, Nov. 8, Massachusetts; Saturday, Nov. 9 at Massachusetts; Tuesday, Nov. 12, Brown; Friday, Nov. 15 at Northeastern; Saturday, Nov. 16, Northeastern; Friday, Nov. 22 at Providence; Saturday, Nov. 23 at Providence, Tuesday, Nov. 26, Harvard; Friday, Nov. 29, at Colorado College; Saturday. Nov. 30 at Colorado College.

Friday, Dec. 6, at Boston College; Saturday, Dec. 7, Boston College; Saturday, Dec. 28 vs. Cornell at Florida Tournament; Sunday, Dec. 29 vs. Princeton/Maine at Florida Tournament.

Friday, Jan. 3, Neb.-Omaha; Saturday, Jan. 4, Neb.-Omaha; Saturday, Jan. 11 vs. Dartmouth at Verizon Wireless Arena; Friday, Jan. 17, Union; Saturday, Jan. 18, Union; Friday, Jan. 24, Maine; Sunday, Jan. 26 at Maine; Friday, Jan. 31, Notre Dame.

Saturday, Feb. 1, Notre Dame ; Friday, Feb. 7, Vermont; Saturday, Feb. 8, Vermont; Friday, Feb. 14, Boston University; Saturday, Feb. 15 at Boston University; Friday, Feb. 28, at Merrimack; Saturday, March 1, at Merrimack.

Softball

Keene State: The Owls have earned a berth to the ECAC Division III New England tournament. Keene State (21-16) will be the third seed in the eight-team tournament and host sixth seed University of New England from Biddeford, Maine, (22-17-1) in a first-round game at Owl Athletic Complex on Wednesday (4 p.m.).

Lacrosse

Dartmouth: For the second straight year, the NCAA Tournament will go through the campus of Syracuse University for the Dartmouth women's lacrosse team as it was awarded an at-large bid Sunday night for the 2013 national postseason.

The Big Green (10-7) will play Boston College in a first-round Game on Friday at 4 p.m.

The winner of the Friday meeting between the Big Green and the Eagles will move on to play fourth-ranked Syracuse Sunday, May 12 at 3 p.m. in the second round.

The Big Green have a distinct edge in the all-time series with Boston College, holding an 18-0 mark.

Tennis

Colby-Sawyer: The men's tennis team will take on Nichols on Thursday in the first round of the Division III men's tennis tournament at Williamstown, Mass.

Colby-Sawyer (14-7) captured the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) crown with a 9-0 victory over Rutgers-Camden on Sunday.

Nichols (18-5) defeated top-seeded Roger Williams, 5-1, on Saturday to claim back-to-back Commonwealth Coast Conference (CCC) men's tennis titles.

Honors

Colby-Sawyer: Junior Kevin Keith has been named North Atlantic Conference Baseball Pitcher of the Year in a vote by the conference coaches.

Senior Tyler Stotz, junior Vinny Monahan, senior Cameron Knight and junior Andy Lapple were named to the All-NAC Second Team.

Keith, who was named to the first team, led the conference in wins (8), shutouts (4) and strikeouts (57), while posting a sparkling 0.95 ERA. He ends the season with a 0.97 ERA and added a pair of saves, becoming the program's all-time leader with five. The eight wins are a single-season record, as are his 61 strikeouts. His seven complete games tied the school record, while the four shutouts set a school record.


 New Hampshire Events Calendar
    

    SHARE EVENTS FOR PUBLICATION, IT'S FREE!

Upcoming Events

 New Hampshire Business Directory

  

    ADD YOUR BUSINESS TODAY!