All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Town Meetings

Derry at-large candidate unopposed; 2 will vie for District 3 council seat

By Hunter McGee
Union Leader Correspondent

January 31. 2014 8:12PM

DERRY — The filing period for town offices closed Friday, leaving one candidate running unopposed for the open at-large Town Council seat.

Filing for this year's races closed at 5 p.m. The town election will be March 11.

When told he will be running unopposed, councilor-at-large candidate Joshua Bourdon said he plans to spend time meeting voters.

The at-large seat opened up when Councilor Brad Benson said he would not seek another term.

Two candidates will be competing for the District 3 council seat, according to the filing results. That seat opened up when Councilor Neil Wetherbee said he would not seek reelection. Candidates David Fischer and Mark Flattes will face each other in the election. Both council seats carry three-year terms.

In other filing results, Margaret Ives is running unopposed as town moderator.

Running for Derry Public Library Trustees are Phyllis D. Howard, M. "Jackie" Dempsey, Lynne S. Mann, James J. Thomas, Christina D. Mentus and Dorothy Wiley.

In the race for trustee of the trust funds are Kelly Mahony and Joel Olbricht.

Candidates for supervisor of the checklist, which carries a six-year term, are Renee Routhier and Janet Bhagat. And vying for supervisor of the checklist, which carries a four–year term to fill a vacancy are Lorraine Routhier and Peg Mullins

Elections Derry

More Headlines

Trump executive order ends family separations