All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

DeWolfe, Felton, Newton win in Ashland; budget article fails

ASHLAND – In a close race between nine candidates for three seats on the Board of Selectmen, incumbent Normand W. DeWolfe was re-elected while Steve Felton and Francis Newton won seats.

In a race for two three-year seats on the board, DeWolfe finished with 302 and Felton had 172. Challengers Jamie Lyford had 90, John C. Hughes had 83 votes, and Miriam E. Brown had 58 votes.

In a race for one one-year term on the board, Newton won with 160 votes, Harold Steven Ramos had 91 votes, Ron Niles had 90 votes, and Anthony A. Hoerter had 48.

Ramos did win a seat on the budget committee,  finishing first with 222 votes in a race for two seats. Incumbent Sandra Coleman retained her seat with 199 votes, and incumbent Ingrid Heidenreich was unseated, having tallied 171 votes.

Several warrant articles failed, including Article 4, which asked for $6,210,871 for the town’s operating budget. Because the article failed, the default budget, last year’s $6,130,645 allocation, will be used.

The vote on Article 4 was 202-240.


Independence Weekend Independence Weekend
Saturday-Sunday, 9 a.m.

World Snow Day World Snow Day
Sunday 10 a.m.

Kashmir Kashmir
Saturday, 8 p.m.

Get the Led Out Get the Led Out
Saturday, 8 p.m.

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

More Town Meetings

NH Angle