All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Town Meetings

Hollis runs out of electronic ballots

Union Leader Correspondent

March 11. 2014 10:23PM

HOLLIS — Though the Hollis polls closed at 7 p.m. Tuesday evening, elections volunteers ran out of electronic ballots, forcing them to resort to paper ballots that had to be hand-counted, slowing the final count process.

The results were revealed just under two hours after the polls closed.

Incumbent Selectmen Frank Cadwell and Vahrij Manoukian were elected to second terms on the Hollis Board of Selectmen, earning 675 and 541 votes, respectively. Challenger Spencer Stickney earned 387 votes.

On the Budget Committee, incumbent members Susan Benz and Frank Whittemore won the race for two open seats, with Benz earning 637 votes and Whittemore earning 567 votes.

Challenger Bob Labednick took 214 votes.

Two three-year seats on the Hollis School Board were won by James O’Shea with 429 votes and Robert Mann with 424 votes.

Both incumbent members lost the race, with Debbie Pucci taking 332 votes and Betsey Cox-Bureau taking 420 votes.

With 400 votes in her favor, candidate Tammy Fareed won the sole single-year term on the school board, narrowly defeating her challenger Laurie Miller, who earned 396 votes.

Hollis voting on all town warrant items will take place Wednesday evening, March 12 at 7 p.m. in the Hollis Brookline High School gymnasium. Thursday, March 13 is the alternate date should the meeting have to be continued, or is postponed due to weather.


Murphy re-elected to Board of Selectmen

Selectman Sean Murphy narrowly earned a second term on the board, defeating challenger and former Selectman Joe Guthrie by a margin of 781-723.

In another contested race on the municipal side, Town Clerk Patricia Curran easily outdistanced challenger Sandra Gaudette.

On the school side of the ballot, voters rejected both a $6.1 million school renovation bond and the proposed school operating budget for the coming year.

— Adam Swift, Union Leader Correspondent



Selectmen Philpot, Dowling re-elected

A three-man race for two seats on the Board of Selectmen went to the two incumbents. Darrell Philpot secured 436 votes, and Karl Dowling earned 360 votes. Challenger Keith Thompson brought in 267 votes in the only contested race on the ballot.

Running unopposed for the Brookline School Board, Patricia Lynch took 454 votes and Matthew Maguire earned 441 votes, with each of them securing a seat on the board.

— Nancy Bean Foster, Union Leader Correspondent


Mayhew to replace Boette on board

Lee Mayhew, who ran unopposed for the single seat on the Board of Selectmen secured 194 votes. Mayhew replaces outgoing Selectman Kevin Boette who decided not to run for another term.

— Nancy Bean Foster, Union Leader Correspondent

Mont Vernon

Esposito re-elected to Board of Selectmen

Local voters re-elected Jack Esposito to the Mont Vernon Board of Selectmen during Tuesday’s town election.

Esposito obtained 215 votes compared to his opponent, Planning Board member Wesley Sonner, who garnered 163 votes.

John Quinlan Jr. secured a spot on the Mont Vernon School Board with 290 votes. He ran unopposed.

Voters rejected the proposed Mont Vernon School District operating budget of $4,304,994, meaning the default budget of $4.1 million will be enacted. The higher budget failed with a vote of 174 in support and 211 opposed. Voters also rejected a proposal to spend about $695,000 for school repairs and upgrades at the Mont Vernon Village School.

Meanwhile, Pim Grondstra was re-elected as a Mont Vernon representative to the Souhegan Cooperative School Board with 300 votes.

Action on various town warrant articles will take place at 9 a.m. Saturday at the Mont Vernon Village School where voters will be presented with a proposed town operating budget of $2,127,955.

Other items being requested on Saturday include capital reserve money for new fire department gear and the reconstruction of Carleton Pond and the surrounding park.

— Kimberly Houghton, Union Leader Correspondent


Write-in candidate elected selectman

A write-in campaign proved successful for Kermit Williams who took the single seat on the Board of Selectmen with 287 votes. Williams beat official contenders Sandra Fisher (179), Eric Parsons (49), and Douglas Whitney (66). The only other contest, a two-way race for water commissioner, went to Steve Elliot (277) over Frank Edelblut (215).

— Nancy Bean Foster, Union Leader Correspondent


More Headlines