All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

Home | Town Meetings

Strafford voters oust an incumbent, reelect a school board member

Union Leader Correspondent

March 11. 2014 8:56PM

STRAFFORD – Newcomer Lynn Sweet will serve a three-year term as selectman after narrowly defeated incumbent JoAnn Brown, 220-178, Tuesday.

Irene Abels earned a three-year seat as a library trustee after beating Mary Marquardt, 201-147.

Incumbent Debbi Hinrichsen will serve another three-year term on the school board after defeating Dan Perry, who waged a write-in campaign, 230-146.

A total of 419 votes were cast and all of the other town and district races were uncontested.

The annual school district meeting is scheduled to begin Wednesday at 7 p.m. and residents will discuss municipal matters at the annual town meeting, which is scheduled to begin Saturday at 8:30 a.m.

Both meetings will be held at the Strafford School.

Education Politics Strafford

More Headlines

State reaches contract agreements with 4 unions