All Sections
action:article | category:NEWS0612 | adString:NEWS0612 | zoneID:52
Welcome guest, you have 2 views left. | Register | Sign In

Newton selectmen chairman defeated in election

NEWTON &#-; Current selectmen chairman Raymond D. Thayer lost his seat on the board during Tuesday&#';s elections in a hotly contested race for a one-year seat. Matthew Burrill (419) was the winner ahead of Thayer (110), Robert Miller (236) and Chris Stephan (102).James L. Doggett and Larry Foote earned three-year seats on the board with 432 votes and 374 votes, respectively.Voters narrowly approved changing the library director position from part time to full time by a vote of 447-442.Voters rejected a proposal to change the town treasurer position from elected to appointed by a vote of 353-523.Many other warrant articles were also rejected, including a proposal to change the position of highway foreman from part time to full time, a $19,000 proposal for renovation of the skateboard park and addition of an outdoor ice rink at Greenie Park and two proposals related to equipment for the fire department.

action:article | category:NEWS0612 | adString:NEWS0612 | zoneID:0
action:article | category:NEWS0612 | adString:NEWS0612 | zoneID:51
action:article | category:NEWS0612 | adString:NEWS0612 | zoneID:141
action:article | category:NEWS0612 | adString:NEWS0612 | zoneID:


Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

More Town Meetings

NH Angle - Town Meetings