action:article | category:SPORTS21 | adString:SPORTS21 | zoneID:40

Home » Sports » High School Sports

May 04. 2014 12:55AM

Football scholar-athlete dinner is Tuesday

Lou D'Allesandro 

State Sen. Lou D'Allesandro and 30 high school seniors selected for their achievements in the classroom and on the field will be among the featured honorees Tuesday night when the Joe Yukica New Hampshire Chapter of the National Football Foundation holds its 27th annual Scholar-Athlete Awards Dinner.

D'Allesandro, a member of the University of New Hampshire Athletics Hall of Fame, will receive the Distinguished American Award during the event, which starts at 5:30 p.m. at the Executive Court Banquet Facility in Manchester.

"I'm humbled and flattered to receive this award," D'Allesandro said. "So many great people have received this award. I was at the first dinner when (New Hampshire supreme court justice) John King received the first one."

D'Allesandro currently serves as an honorary director on the Yukica board and played high school and college football.

"I'm very proud of all the things this organization has done and I'm happy to be a part of it," D'Allesandro said. "It's quite an honor."

Also on the dais will be Robert "Stretch" Gillam, who will receive the Andy Mooradian Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award in recognition of his 35-year tenure as director of the Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl Game. Presenting the award will be Mooradian's daughter, Jody Mooradian, an associate director of athletics at Boston College.

The James "Red" Hayes Award for Community Support will be awarded to Jack Irwin of Laconia. A loyal supporter of the Laconia High football program, Irwin led the effort to raise $1 million to build the Bank of New Hampshire Stadium, home of the Sachems.

Jamie Staton, sports director of WMUR-TV 9, will receive the Media Award for his coverage of high school football, particularly on the station's popular "Friday Night High School Football Report."

The dinner is dedicated to the late Dan Duval, a three-sport star at Trinity High of Manchester who went on to coach at several local schools and became best known as a speaker on the dangers of substance abuse.

Among the speakers will be UNH head coach Sean McDonnell and Howard Vandersea, Northeast coordinator for the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame Inc.

Bob Norton and Jim Jeannotte will serve as emcees.

Along with McDonnell, the banquet will recognize the head coaches from the state's other football-playing colleges and universities: Paul Castonia of Plymouth State, Pat Murphy of St. Anselm College, Peter Ewald of Franklin Pierce and Buddy Teevens of Dartmouth.

For tickets, contact Dave Nixon at 669-7070 or Mike Murphy at 926-8063.

Scholar-Athlete Recipients

Mitchell Banuskevich, Milford; Stephen Bianco Jr., Keene; Daniel Colella, Bedford; Abraham DeMaio, Kingswood of Wolfeboro; Michael Devereaux, Bishop Guertin of Nashua; Patrick Flathers, Bishop Guertin; Nick Garside, Hollis/Brookline; Carmen Giampetruzzi, Trinity of Manchester; Devin Gillis, Merrimack; Terri Gilman II, Manchester Central; Ian Girdwood, Lebanon; Grayson Hardy, Lebanon; Joe Karsonovich, St. Thomas Aquinas of Dover; Kyle Kosiorek, Mascoma of Canaan; Jared Kuehl, Plymouth; Devin Long, Winnacunnet; Nicholas Makris, Manchester Central; Evan Manns, Nashua North; Ian Michaud, Milford; Alex Parenteau, Keene; Donovan Phanor, Portsmouth; Ryan Pinard, Goffstown; Drew Prescott, Souhegan of Amherst; Kyle Reisert, Plymouth; Collin Richardson, Exeter; Collin Sullivan, Plymouth; Nicholas Vailas, Bedford; Jacob Valinski, Epping/Newmarket; John Vidal, Nashua North; Collin Witt, Winnacunnet of Hampton

 NH Sports Angle more
Links to news and happenings around the world of sports with a Granite State connection, updated daily.

Former New Hampshire goalie DeSmith tells his side of arrest, dismissal from team

NH hockey team moving to Maine could be worth at least $1 million in economic activity say city officials

New owners of Claremont plan to put speedway back on track

Speedway in Claremont bought for nearly $519,000

Lebanon marathoner qualifies for US Olympic Trials

Matt Bonner talks about the end of the run, making the simple play, and playing until he's 40

Ex-UNH goalie agrees to diversion,receive counseling, avoids jail

Wildcats will face Chattanooga in prime time

New England Revolution forward Charlie Davies teaches supporters how to believe

Helmetless Football? Its the new practice at UNH


DeSmith officially dismissed from New Hampshire team, but can return to class as of Dec. 20

San Antonio Spurs forward Matt Bonner (15), of Concord, N.H., shoots the ball against Boston Celtics center Tyler Zeller (44) during the second half at TD Garden.

Rapper Lil B gives shoutout to…Matt Bonner?

Manchester Central's Tyler Stratton watches his shot get by Spaulding High School (Rochester) goalie Derek Scott during a shootout at the 2012 Bauer Christmas Hockey Classic hosted at JFK Coliseum in Manchester.

VFW downsizing threatens Spaulding hockey due to loss of venue for Bingo fundraisers

Eagles notes: Kelly committed to current job

5 face riot charges in beating incident at football game

Ayotte rips top sports league commissioners for snubbing hearing on domestic violence

Manchester Monarchs sign Josh Gratton to AHL contract

Can football without helmets lead to fewer concussions?

Trial date set for former UNH hockey coach accused of assaulting player

Sudanese runner with NH ties hoping to crowdfund way to 2016 Olympics

Former Wildcat van Riemsdyk undergoes successful surgery

Monadnock Speedway driver captures first Granite State NASCAR title


 New Hampshire Events Calendar


Upcoming Events

 New Hampshire Business Directory