action:article | category:SPORTS0701 | adString:SPORTS0701 | zoneID:40

Home » Sports » Hockey » Bruins/NHL

June 24. 2014 10:47PM

Bruins' Rask, Bergeron among NHL award winners

Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby won the Hart Memorial Trophy, awarded to the NHL’s regular season MVP by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association, during the league’s awards ceremony Tuesday night in Las Vegas.

Crosby, who led the league with 36 goals and 104 points, is the second Penguins player to win the Hart multiple times, joining Mario Lemieux, who won it three times. Crosby, who was named on every ballot, was followed by Anaheim Ducks center Ryan Getzlaf.

Bruins goaltender Tuukka Rask received the Vezina Trophy, which goes to the NHL’s top goaltender. Rask went 36-15-6 while helping Boston post the league’s best regular-season record. He topped the NHL with seven shutouts, and he came in second in save percentage (.930), fourth in goals-against average (2.04) and fifth in victories.

Rask received 16 of 30 first-place votes and 103 voting points from the league’s general managers in voting for the top goalie. Colorado’s Semyon Varlamov was second with nine first-place votes.

Rask’s teammate in Boston, forward Patrice Bergeron, received the Frank J. Selke Trophy, which goes to the top defensive forward in the NHL. Bergeron also won the NHL Foundation Player Award, given for charitable and community work.

Bergeron received 1,283 points in Selke voting, including 112 of the 137 first-place votes. Kings center Anze Kopitar finished a distant second with 840 points and 20 first-place votes.

Eighteen-year-old Colorado Avalanche center Nathan MacKinnon became the youngest winner of the Calder Trophy, given to the NHL’s top rookie.

Awards list

Hart Trophy (MVP): Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh

Bill Masterson Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship, dedication to hockey): Dominic Moore, New York Rangers

Frank Selke Trophy (top defensive forward): Patrice Bergeron, Boston

Calder Trophy (rookie of the year): Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado

Norris Trophy (top defenseman): Duncan Keith, Chicago

Vezina Trophy (best goalie): Tuukka Rask, Boston

Lady Byng Trophy (gentlemanly conduct): Ryan O’Reilly, Colorado

Jack Adams Award (top head coach): Patrick Roy, Colorado

General Manager of the Year: Bob Murray, Anaheim

EA Sports (video game cover vote winner): Bergeron

Mark Messier Leadership Award (community service): Dustin Brown, Los Angeles

NHL Foundation Player Award (community service): Bergeron

King Clancy Trophy (humanitarian contributions): Andrew Ference, Edmonton

William Jennings Trophy (goalie for the team with the fewest goals scored against it): Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles

Maurice Richard Trophy (top goal scorer): Alex Ovechkin, Washington

Art Ross Trophy (scoring leader): Crosby

Ted Lindsay Award (Most Outstanding Player): Crosby

  • Should public schools in NH provide students with firearms safety instruction?
  • Yes
  • 65%
  • No
  • 35%
  • Total Votes: 1958
 NH Sports Angle more
Links to news and happenings around the world of sports with a Granite State connection, updated daily.

New OT rule in AHL generating buzz

Slam thunk! Sarah Silverman nearly hit by basketball at Knicks game... but luckily John McEnroe is there to shield her

Spurs' Matt Bonner will wear new Adidas Crazy 8 shoes for Christmas game

Jason Saltmarsh: Runners should never have to pay for their race photos

Ex-official pleads guilty to embezzling thousands from Pembroke football nonprofit

Former New Hampshire goalie DeSmith tells his side of arrest, dismissal from team

NH hockey team moving to Maine could be worth at least $1 million in economic activity say city officials

New owners of Claremont plan to put speedway back on track

Speedway in Claremont bought for nearly $519,000

Lebanon marathoner qualifies for US Olympic Trials

Matt Bonner talks about the end of the run, making the simple play, and playing until he's 40

Ex-UNH goalie agrees to diversion,receive counseling, avoids jail

Wildcats will face Chattanooga in prime time

New England Revolution forward Charlie Davies teaches supporters how to believe

Helmetless Football? Its the new practice at UNH


DeSmith officially dismissed from New Hampshire team, but can return to class as of Dec. 20

San Antonio Spurs forward Matt Bonner (15), of Concord, N.H., shoots the ball against Boston Celtics center Tyler Zeller (44) during the second half at TD Garden.

Rapper Lil B gives shoutout to…Matt Bonner?

Manchester Central's Tyler Stratton watches his shot get by Spaulding High School (Rochester) goalie Derek Scott during a shootout at the 2012 Bauer Christmas Hockey Classic hosted at JFK Coliseum in Manchester.

VFW downsizing threatens Spaulding hockey due to loss of venue for Bingo fundraisers

Eagles notes: Kelly committed to current job

5 face riot charges in beating incident at football game

Ayotte rips top sports league commissioners for snubbing hearing on domestic violence

Manchester Monarchs sign Josh Gratton to AHL contract


 New Hampshire Events Calendar


Upcoming Events

 New Hampshire Business Directory