All Sections
Welcome guest, you have 3 views left.  Register| Sign In

57th Red Ryan tourney starts today at Derryfield

Defending junior division champion Eric Evans of Dover will be challenged by a strong field when the 57th annual Red Ryan CYO Golf Tournament tees off today at 8 a.m. at Derryfield Country Club in Manchester.

Today’s format includes an 18-hole medal play round for the junior and intermediate divisions and a nine-hole medal round for the mite division. The tournament continues at 8 a.m. for all three levels on Wednesday (quarterfinals) and Thursday (semifinals, finals) under the match play format.

Top challengers for Evans’ title are Brennan Gillis of Merrimack, Thomas Ethier of Nashua, Eric Keilty of Dover and two-time defending mite division champion Phillip Schmitz of Mont Vernon.

The 2013 intermediate division champion, Tim Manwaring of Keene, is not eligible to defend his crown. Looking to win the vacant title this summer is 2013 junior division medalist Roman Ojala of Keene. Ojala also won the mite division title in 2010. Doug Champagne and Joshua Lacasse, both of Bow, will likely challenge Ojala for this year’s top spot.

Other contenders are Northfield’s Jordan Dahl and, Roger Larrivee and Dylan Cowette, both of Bedford.

The vacant mite division crown has many challengers, including Owen Cook of Manchester, C.J. LaDue of Bedford and Nashua’s T.J. Gillis.

Awards ceremonies, including this year’s outstanding golfer and rookie of the year, will wrap up the event on Thursday.

- - - - - - -  --

Today’s tee times

Intermediate Division (1st Tee)

8 a.m.: Dylan Cowette, Jordan Dahl, Joshua Lacasse, Macky Seppala; 8:09: Douglas Champagne, John Cook, Roger Larrivee, Roman Ojala; 8:18: Bennett Doherty, Jeremy Duhamel, Michael Jensen, Jordan Oelkers; 8:27: Austin Baker, Mathew Paulson, Christopher Saunders, Nick Stone; 8:36: Tyler Cole, August Darula, Steve McFadden, Chris Moquin; 8:45: Alec Cassady, Joey Larocca, Ashley Tewksbury, David Ventreslo; 8:54: Dawson Dickson, James Manning, Jack Reilly.

Junior Division (10th Tee)

8 a.m. Thomas Ethier, Eric Evans, Brennen Gillis, Eric Keilty; 8:09: Griffin Gagne, Phillip Schmitz, Cameron Sheedy, Demetrios Stamoulis; 8:18: Graham Diack, Ian MacDonald, Connor Robert, Ryan Stankiewicz; 8:27: Ryan Fitzgerald, Colin Plumb, Jake Poitras, Jacob Rioux; 8:36: Zachary Augusta, Jacob Carrier, Noah Greenwood, Chase Holombo; 8:45: Noah Bahan, Noah Olson, Dan Pleva, Curtis Wirbal; 8:54: Chris McSherry, Christopher Murphy, Jay Roberto, Andrew Teris; 9:03: Stoughton Bell, Stephen Duckett, Nicholas Edgeworth

Mite Division (1st Tee)

9:03: Owen Cook, C.J. LaDue, Sam Reynolds, Scott Senatore; 9:12: T.J. Gillis, Michael McLean, Gunnar Senatore, Nicholas Tufts; 9:21: Alex Gagne, Parker Roberto, Matthew Simmons, Ryan Sweeney; 9:30: Asa Dupuis, Camden Labonville, Chris McQuinn, Jacob Tinker; 9:39: Jack Fitzgerald, Owen Roberto, Lydia Tufts

Eric Church
Saturday, 8 p.m.

Discover Wild NH Day
Saturday, 10 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Kathy Griffin
Saturday, 7 p.m.

Peter Wolf
Saturday, 7:30 p.m.

Motor Booty Affair
Saturday, 8 p.m.

Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Facebook Follow our RSS feed
Union Leader app for Apple iPad or Android *
Click to download from Apple Apps StoreClick to download from Android Marketplace
* e-Edition subscription required

More Golf

NH Angle