All Sections

Home | Business

Rising Stars name award finalists

August 18. 2015 8:36PM

MANCHESTER — Organizers for the Rising Stars Awards announced the keynote speaker and finalists Tuesday for the 2015 event, which will be held 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. on Oct. 5 at the Space Entertainment Center, 51 Zapora Drive, Hooksett.

The awards are an initiative of Stay Work Play in partnership with New Hampshire Public Radio. The finalists for six award categories, plus a new student video category, span cities and towns throughout the Granite State and will be joined by keynote speaker Tina L. Nadeau, chief justice of the New Hampshire Superior Court.

The finalists, chosen by panels of volunteer judges are:

• Young Entrepreneur of the Year finalists: Alex Freid of Lee and Post-Landfill Action Network (PLAN); Zach Luse of Keene and Paragon Digital Marketing; and Tim Thyne of Nashua and Adored.

• College Student of the Year finalists: Alicia Frazier of Candia and Southern New Hampshire University; Matthew Mayer of Windham and the University of New Hampshire; Katerina Messologitis of Milford, Conn., and UNH; and Kirsten Spooner of North Haverhill and SNHU.

• College Video submission winners: Alicia Frazier of Candia and SNHU; Kristina Velasquez of Merrimack and Plymouth State University; and Joe Gallagher of Concord and Hellenic American University.

• Young Professional of the Year: Nicole Barreira of Manchester and Great New Hampshire Restaurants; Chris Wellington of Manchester and Grafton County Economic Development Council; and Jeremy Woodward of Concord and Jeremy’s Boot Camp.

• Civic Leader of the Year finalists: Bryan Bouchard of Manchester and SNHU; Amanda Bouldin of Manchester and IdoVape; Serena Galleshaw of Somersworth; and Zach Williams of Claremont and the city of Claremont.

• Coolest Companies for Young Professionals finalists: Cranmore Mountain Resort of North Conway; Fidelity Investments of Merrimack; ICE Worldwide of Portsmouth; Red River Computers of Claremont; Single Digits of Bedford; and Technology Seed of Salem.

• Leadership Development Program of the Year finalists: Hoffmann-Haas Fellowship, an initiative of the New Hampshire Center for Nonprofits; the New Hampshire Bar Association Leadership Academy; and the Young Reporters Project, an initiative of Business NH Magazine.

The Rising Stars Awards will offer food and a cash bar; six raffle baskets, each representing a region of New Hampshire; live music by Groove Lounge; the keynote address by Nadeau; and the announcement of the award winners.

The emcee for the evening will be NHPR’s Taylor Quimby, producer of the “Word of Mouth’’ program. Reserve tickets and learn more at, on Facebook or @stayworkplay on Twitter.

The Rising Stars Awards are sponsored by: Antioch University New England, Arts Industry Alliance, Bank of New Hampshire, Bellwether Community Credit Union, BerryDunn, Chris Malloy Events, Dyn, Eastern Bank, Fidelity Investments, Grappone Automotive Group, GYK Antler, Harvard Pilgrim Health Care, Hire Alliance, Hypertherm, Mint Printworks, New Hampshire Charitable Foundation, New Hampshire Department of Resources and Economic Development, New Hampshire Distributor Inc., New Hampshire Public Television, Solidscape and Space Entertainment Center.


More Headlines

Mass. utility sued over gas explosions

WW II era aircraft on display in Laconia