All Sections

Home | College Sports

Plymouth State to induct 5 into its Athletic Hall of Fame

July 29. 2017 11:25PM


Plymouth State University will honor five individuals as the newest members of its Athletic Hall of Fame this fall at this year's induction ceremony, slated for Saturday, Oct. 21.

The 2017 inductees are:

J.P. Sallese, class of 2002, a four-year starter for the Panther men's lacrosse team who earned Pilgrim League Divisional All-Star status in 2000 and All-Little East Conference First Team in 2001 while leading the program to four straight postseason berths.

Kristin Dougherty Maskalenko, class of 1990, a four-year standout on the Panther women's soccer team who earned two All-America and All-New England honors while helping the team to four straight NCAA Tournaments and three Final Fours.

Laura Giusti-Bennett, class of 1986, a four-year member of the PSU field hockey team who earned All-America honors while guiding the program to post-season appearances in the EAIAW Tournament, ECAC Tournament and the program's first NCAA Tournament.

Michael Goldenberg, class of 1984, an extremely active and influential voice on the State, District and National levels of athletic training whose 30-plus-year career has been honored with inclusion in the NATA and ATSNJ Halls of Fame.

Andy Byrne, class of 1975, a four-year member and captain of the Plymouth State men's soccer program who enjoyed a prolific career on the sidelines, including two-time Northeast Region Division III Coach of the Year and four-time Empire 8 Coach of the Year honors while leading Ithaca College to 11 NCAA post-season appearances over a 31-year career.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will take place at The Savage Welcome Center in the PSU Ice Arena on Saturday, Oct. 21.

The evening will include a reception at 5 p.m., dinner at 6 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 7 p.m.

The quintet of new inductees increases the total number in the Hall to 188 individuals and six teams since it began in 1985.

Sports Plymouth College Sports