Sox to play 2018 road, home openers vs. Tampa | New Hampshire
All Sections

Home | Red Sox/MLB

Sox to play 2018 road, home openers vs. Tampa

The Sports Xchange
September 13. 2017 12:14AM

Major League Baseball on Tuesday released its 2018 regular-season schedule with a wrinkle that hasn’t been seen in 50 years. All 30 teams will begin their seasons on Thursday, March 29, marking the first time in a half-century that every club opens play on the same day. The 1968 campaign began with all 20 teams in action.

The Boston Red Sox open at Tampa Bay for four games, then stay in Florida for two games in Miami before playing their home opener at Fenway Park on Thursday, April 5 against the Rays. Highlights of the Red Sox’ schedule include home-and-away interleague series against the Braves and Phillies.

They also play the Marlins in both home and away series. Boston’s other interleague action comes against the New York Mets (home) and the Washington Nationals, July 2-4, at Nationals Park.

The Red Sox finish at home with their rivals, the New York Yankees, on Sept. 28-30.

March 29 represents the earliest start to a major league season, excluding special international events.

The Twins and Indians will travel to San Juan, Puerto Rico for a two-game series at Hiram Bithorn Stadium on April 17-18. The Twins will host the games, which will mark the first regular-season action on the island since the New York Mets faced the then-Florida Marlins in 2010.

Washington will host All-Star Week, culminating in the 89th Midsummer Classic on Tuesday, July 17.

Red Sox/MLB