All Sections

Home | Local & County Government

Town elections: A look at who is running for office in Derry, Londonderry, and Salem

Union Leader Correspondent

February 07. 2018 11:12PM

Candidates for elected positions in Derry, Londonderry and Salem had until Feb. 2 to file their intention to run.

Elections in all three towns are scheduled to take place on March 13.


There are three contested races in Derry this year, with Town Moderator Mary Till squaring off against Kevin Coyle for the two-year position; incumbent Phyllis Katsakiores is looking to retain her three-year councilor-at-large seat against Dave Granese and Jeffrey Moulton, and David Pouliot is looking to replace James C. Webb as trustee of the trust funds for a three-year term.

The following Derry town candidates are running unopposed:

• Richard Tripp for the three-year District 1 Town Council seat.

• Armand “Pete” Marcotte and Kristen Mari for two three-year openings as trustees of the Derry Public Library

• Heather Paradzick for a two-year seat on the library trustees

• Raymond Fontaine for a three-year term as a Taylor Library Trustee

• Patricia Dowling for a six-year term as a supervisor of the checklist.

For the Derry Cooperative School District, three candidates are seeking two three-year openings on the Derry School Board. Incumbents Erika A. Cohen and Michelle McKinnon are facing competition this year from Matt Leavitt.

Kevin Gordon is running unopposed for the district moderator term of three years.

For the Londonderry School Board, there are six candidates running for two three-year seats.

One incumbent, Steve Young, is looking to retain his seat against Katlyn Brutus-McKenzie, Greg DePasse, Jeff Katz, Owen McAllister and Michael Saucier. Leitha Reilly is not seeking reelection to the Londonderry School Board after two terms.


Incumbent Londonderry Town Clerk Sherry Farrell is looking to hold her three-year position against challenger Martha Liff Smith.

Thomas Freda and Luisa Piette are both seeking the two-year moderator role while Betsy McKinney and Carol Introne are running for a three-year position as a library trustee.

Kirsten Hildonen is running for a six-year term for an uncontested checklist supervisor position and for a three-year term on the budget committee. Kyle Ramon Foden is also running for the budget committee.

Jim Butler is running uncontested for a three-year seat on the Town Council and Howard Bookman is unopposed for a three-year seat as a trustee of the trust fund.


In Salem, there are eight candidates for the Budget Committee’s three vacancies: Paul Huard, Terrence Scanlan, Peter Edgerly, Dane Hoover, Michael Mackey, Sean Lewis, William Carino and Patrick McDougall.

Robert Bryant, James Keller and Steve Boyd are seeking the two open Board of Selectmen positions. Carol Houle, Barry Pietrantonio and Teressa Holland are vying for the one opening as a trustee of the trust funds.

Three candidates will appear on the ballot for two openings on both the town’s Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment: Michael Banks, Keith Belair and Paul Pelletier for the Planning Board and George Perry, Michael Smith and John J. Manning for the ZBA.

Three positions are uncontested: Cindy Jury for library trustee, Christopher Goodnow for town moderator and Melissa Sorcinelli for supervisor of the checklist.

There are two available three-year seats for the Salem School Board: incumbents Pamela Berry and Michael Carney and Kelly Moss.

Polling times

Polls in Derry are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., with Districts 1 and 4 voting at Gilbert H. Hood Middle School, District 2 at Calvary Bible Church and District 3 at West Running Brook Middle School.

Voting for all town and school officials in Londonderry will take place from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the high school gymnasium.

Salem’s polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and voting will take place at each district’s respective location — Fisk School, Soule School, Barron School, Ingram Senior Center and North Salem School.

Questions related to Salem’s polling locations may be directed to Susan Wall at 890-2116.

Local General News Derry Londonderry Salem Local and County Government

More Headlines