The White House

The White House is seen in Washington, D.C., on Sunday, Oct. 6, 2019.

WASHINGTON — President Donald Trump signed into law Friday the National POW/MIA Flag Act, which requires that the POW/MIA flag be displayed whenever the American flag is displayed on prominent federal properties to honor the more than 82,000 Americans listed as Prisoners of War or Missing in Action.

The law will ensure the POW/MIA flag is displayed whenever the U.S. flag is, ensuring that both flags are displayed concurrently and every day at federal locations already designated under existing law.

Those locations are: the U.S. Capitol; the White House; the World War II Memorial; the Korean War Veterans Memorial; the Vietnam Veterans Memorial; national cemeteries; the office buildings of the Secretaries of State, Defense and Veterans Affairs; the office of the director of the Selective Service System; major military installations; VA Medical Centers; and USPS post offices.

The POW/MIA flag was previously required to be displayed on certain federal properties only six days per year: Memorial Day, Flag Day, Armed Forces Day, Independence Day, National POW/MIA Recognition Day and Veterans Day.

The Senate version of the bill was sponsored by Sens. Maggie Hassan, D-NH; Elizabeth Warren, D-Mass.; Tom Cotton, R-Ark.; John Thune, R-S.D.; Kyrsten Sinema, D-Ariz.; Pat Toomey, R-Pa.; Marco Rubio, R-Fla.; and Jack Reed, D-R.I. The House version was sponsored by Reps. Chris Pappas, D-NH, and Jack Bergman, R-Mich.


Monday, December 09, 2019
Sunday, December 08, 2019
Saturday, December 07, 2019