In troubled times, “Look for the helpers,” the inestimable Mister Rogers liked to say. “There’s always someone who is trying to help.”In New Hampshire, you don’t have to look far. The Union Leader put out a call asking readers to tell us about “acts of kindness” — everyday people who go abou…

Editor’s note: Sunday marked the 50th anniversary of an accident that took eight lives on the Mt. Washington Cog Railway. As part of our anniversary coverage, we are excerpting a chapter from Publisher Joseph W. McQuaid’s new memoir “Cog Days.” McQuaid worked at the Cog for four summers. He …

PLAISTOW — After 26 years as a K-9 officer, it’s not surprising that Plaistow Police Sgt. Alec Porter decided to show off his Halloween spirit by putting cool but creepy skeletons of a cop and police dog on display outside his house.

A partial list of towns with set dates for Fourth of July celebrations and/or fireworks. If your town is not listed, please contact your local police department's business line or town hall for more information.

Although she's modest about her chances of winning, a 15-year-old girl from Alton is nonetheless expected to make history this month when she becomes the first Granite Stater to compete in the 150-mile-long Jr. Iditarod Trail Sled Dog Race in Alaska.

Thursday, May 28, 2020
Monday, May 25, 2020
Saturday, May 23, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Saturday, May 16, 2020
Thursday, May 14, 2020
Wednesday, May 13, 2020
Monday, May 11, 2020
Saturday, May 09, 2020
Thursday, May 07, 2020
Sunday, May 03, 2020

Speaking personally, the current situation of life inside the house is somewhat akin to when I lived in eastern Ukraine in the early 1990s. Sources of entertainment were scarce for me in the pre-World Wide Web days.

Dear Helaine and Joe: This pitcher came from my aunt’s estate. I have always loved it. The boy is climbing up the tree toward a bird’s nest on one side and has the nest in his hands on the other. Please let me know if you have any information on the pitcher’s origins.

Saturday, May 02, 2020
Thursday, April 30, 2020
<]