The University of New Hampshire women’s hockey team will play 18 home games, including 14 against Hockey East opponents, during the upcoming season.

The Wildcats will open Sunday, Sept. 29, hosting Franklin Pierce University of the New England Women’s Hockey Alliance, a conference composed mainly of Division II schools. The NEWHA has announced its intent to be recognized as an NCAA women’s hockey conference, eligible to compete for the Division I/II NCAA title.

UNH’s other nonconference home games will be against Saint Lawrence of the ECAC (Oct. 3 and 4) and Granite State rival Dartmouth, also of the ECAC, on Feb. 7.

“I expect our conference to be incredibly competitive,” said UNH coach Hillary Witt. “Hockey East is a premier conference with incredibly talented players. Every game will be tough, and we are excited to compete. Our non-conference schedule will be challenging, and we look forward to it.”

2019-20 UNH women’s hockey

Sunday, Sept. 29: Franklin Pierce, 2 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 3: St. Lawrence, 4 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 4: St. Lawrence, noon

Friday, Oct. 11: at UConn, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 12: Boston University, 3 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 18: at Vermont, 6 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 20: at Northeastern, 3 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 25: Maine, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 26: at Providence, 2 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 1: at Boston College, 2 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 3: Holy Cross, 2 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 8: Vermont, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 9: Vermont, 3 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 15: at Northeastern, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 16: Northeastern, 3 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 23: at Harvard, 2 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 6: at Merrimack, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 7: Merrimack, 3 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 3: at Penn State, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 4: at Penn State, 2 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 10: UConn, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 11: UConn, 2 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 17: Providence, 6 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 18: Providence, 2 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 24: Holy Cross, 5 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 25: at Holy Cross, 1 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 31: at Maine, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 1: at Maine, 2 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 4: Dartmouth, 7 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 7: at Boston College, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 8: at Merrimack, 2 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 15: Boston University, 2 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 16: at Boston University, 3 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 22: Boston College, 2 p.m.