MANCHESTER — The Joe Yukica Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame on Tuesday night honored former Portsmouth High School coach Tom Daubney with its Andy Mooradian Award for outstanding contribution to football during the 32nd edition of its scholar/athlete banquet at the Executive Court Banquet Facility.

Daubney served as Portsmouth head coach from 1970 to 1992 and guided the Clippers to the Class L/Division I title three times: 1976, 1977 and 1981. The football field at Portsmouth High has been named after Daubney, who has also coached in eight Shrine Maple Sugar Bowls, three as New Hampshire’s head coach.

He also gave to New Hampshire football in other ways.

“I think my biggest contribution to football is the number of guys who played for me who got into coaching,” he said. “They’re coaching 70 percent of the teams in Portsmouth, from the high school level right on down. You’ll also find a lot of my former players coaching in surrounding towns. The fact that they feel good enough about the game to give back makes me feel good.”

Current Portsmouth coach Brian Pafford played for Daubney, and two of Pafford’s assistants, John Iafolla and Kevin Mills, are also Daubney disciples.

Daubney coached at the college level as an assistant at Boston University and the University of Rhode Island. He started the football program at Acton-Boxboro High School in Massachusetts and also spent two seasons as the head coach at Barnstable (Mass.) High School before he landed at Portsmouth.

“He was a great player’s coach — friendly, but intense,” said Jack Gati, who served as the head coach at Trinity, Concord and Salem. “His teams were fundamentally solid. They were disciplined, but they played hard too. They all played hard. His players had great respect for him, you could see that.”

Daubney, a Milton resident, continued to teach in the physical education program at Portsmouth High for 10 years after he stepped down as the school’s head coach.

“The reason I got considered for this award is I had great players at Portsmouth and my coaching staff changed very little,” Daubney said. “Those guys were loyal, and that made my job easy.

“To be mentioned in the same sentence as Yukica and Mooradian is shocking and rewarding. To get an award from them is a little bit humbling.”


The Yukica Chapter recognized 38 scholar/athletes at the banquet. This year’s recipients were selected based on their athletic and academic achievements, plus their contributions to their community.

This year’s winners:

Josh Berube (Londonderry), Owen Brickley (Plymouth), Luke Botticelli (Sanborn), Bobby Bunis (Merrimack), Zachary Chau (Londonderry), Jacob Collins (Bedford), Tommy Emrick (Windham), Willem Federico (Dover), Tim Galamaga (Bedford), Adam Gray (Exeter), Patrick Hagearty (Londonderry), Alex Hawkom (Central), Thomas Hayes (Merrimack), Adrian Kennedy (Concord), Jordan Labossiere (Salem), Harrison LeGoullon (Bedford), Michael Loveless (Nashua North), Madison Lucontoni (Bedford), Patrick Malm (Plymouth), Cameron Mann (Kingswood), Gennaro Marra (Pinkerton), Ryan Marotta (Windham), Chandler Matson (Monadnock), Jaymeson Maheux (Manchester West), Will Michaud (Salem), Brian Montminy (Nashua North), Thomas Morgan (Bedford), Lucien Mumpini (Bedford), Nick Olibrice (Central), Austin Ouellette (Nashua North), Bobby Putnam (Hanover), Simon Roach (Hanover), Cody Stevens (Windham), Ryan Toscano (Bedford), Andrew Twite (Bedford), Ty Vitko (Dover), Ryan Whitney (Exeter) and Elias Witham (Winnacunnet).


Others who were honored during the scholar/athlete banquet:

• Distinguished American Award: Colonel Jason K. Fettig, a Manchester Central graduate who is the director of the U.S. Marine Corps band — the nation’s oldest professional music association.

• James “Red” Hayes Award for community support of athletics: Houston Texans tight end Ryan Griffin, a former player at Londonderry High School who donated cleats and gloves to the Londonderry program last year.

This year’s Dave Nixon Golf Classic, a fundraiser for the Yukica Chapter, will be held June 26 at Beaver Meadow Golf Club in Concord.

For more information or to register, contact Gati (305-1084) or Butch Munce (723-0810).