Nominations are open for the 2021 awards! 

Walter Smith Award for Coaches - Minimum of 15 years experience

John R. Clark Award for Officials - Minimum of 15 years experience

Carl Lundholm Award - For volunteer dedication to youth sports.

Email your nomination to 

Each year the Union Leader honors the previous year's Athlete of the Month Award recipients as well as the coaches, officials and volunteers who make amateur sports in New Hampshire possible!

The New Hampshire Union Leader is pleased to announce the recipients of the following prestigious awards.


2020 Event Honorees: 

Walter Smith Award for Coaches:

  • Soc Bobotas
  • Dana Bourassa
  • Jamie Fish
  • Doug Glance
  • Randy Mattson
  • Ken Osbon
  • Mark Telge

John R. Clark Award for Officials:

  • Steve Burrows
  • Ed Daniels
  • Richard Driscoll
  • Larry Frizzell
  • Gary Mayo
  • Lynn Spang

Carl Lundholm Award for Dedication to Youth Athletics:

  • Dorothy Callaghan

James Desmarais Special Recognition

  • Liza Corso

Ty Abate Award

  • Sam Barton

Athlete of the Month

  • January - Mike Robinson
  • February - Brooke Kane
  • March - Cody Ball
  • April - Dempsey Arsenault
  • May - Cody Morissette
  • June - Grace Devanny
  • July - John DeVito
  • August - Lauren Thibodeau
  • September - Colby Quiet
  • October - John Thibault
  • November - Jake McEachern
  • December - Lexie Hamilton


Thank you to our event sponsors!